### HAS YOUR LIFE BEEN AFFECTED BY CRIME?





### OFFICE OF VICTIM SERVICES

focusing on a brighter future

### **ABOUT OVS**

stand 1

The mission of the Office of Victim Services is to provide statewide leadership and the highest quality advocacy, services, and education guided by the individual crime victim's experience. The Connecticut Judicial Branch, Office of Victim Services (OVS) provides information and services to victims of violent crime and their families, including advocacy during adult and juvenile court proceedings and financial help for out-of-pocket expenses caused by the crime.

#### SERVICES OFFERED

- Financial help for out-of-pocket expenses related to the crime, including medical, dental, counseling, funeral, and lost wages (1-888-286-7347).
- Court-based victim services advocates to provide support during court proceedings and information on crime victims' rights and the criminal and juvenile justice system.
- Victim services advocates at the Board of Pardons and Paroles to provide support to crime victims during the pardons and paroles process (203-805-6595 or 203-805-6687).
- Helpline (1-800-822-8428) for information on crime victim rights and referrals to state and community agencies.
- Confidential victim notification programs (1-800-822-8428) that provide information to victims about changes in inmate status, requests made by an inmate for changes in registration status with the Sex Offender Registry, and when orders of protection end.
- CT SAVIN (**1-877-846-3428**) for notification of certain court events, changes to an inmate's custody status, and when a criminal court order of protection is issued, changed, or ends.
- Training for criminal justice and victim service professionals on victims' rights and services.
- Funding to community-based victim service agencies in Connecticut to provide crisis intervention, counseling, 24-hour Hotlines, and other services.
- Sexual assault forensic examiners to provide compassionate care and forensic examination services to sexual assault victims that go to participating healthcare facilities (1-800-822-8428).

### COMPENSATION FOR CRIME VICTIMS

The Victim Compensation Program provides financial help to crime victims, their family members, and other persons who have financial loss because of the crime.

The Victim Compensation Program can only pay for eligible crime-related expenses that are not covered by insurance or another financial source.

#### WHO CAN RECEIVE VICTIM COMPENSATION?

- A victim who suffered a physical injury;
- A victim who suffered emotional injury from a threat of either physical injury or death and received treatment;
- A dependent and the legal designated decision maker of a homicide victim;
- A child who witnesses domestic violence;
- A relative, defined by state law, of a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, or homicide victim;
- A person who paid some or all of the funeral expenses, crime scene clean-up expenses, or both; or
- A person who has a disability and owns or keeps a service animal that was injured or killed during a crime.

#### BENEFITS

- Physical injury up to \$15,000
- Survivor benefits up to \$25,000
- Emotional injury up to \$5,000 for medical and mental health treatment

#### WHAT EXPENSES ARE ELIGIBLE (LIMITS MAY APPLY)?

- Medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses;
- Counseling for relatives of sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and homicide victims;
- Crime scene clean-up and security systems (up to \$1,000);
- Funeral and burial (up to \$6,000);
- Lost wages or support; and
- Expenses to go to court, Juvenile, and Board of Pardons and Paroles proceedings for physical injury victims, their relatives, and the relatives and dependents of homicide victims.

#### WHAT EXPENSES ARE NOT ELIGIBLE?

- Property loss/damage;
- Pain and suffering;
- Household living expenses;
- Mileage to doctor appointments; or
- Attorney fees (except attorney fees of up to 15% for help with filing a claim for victim compensation).

There are other eligibility requirements that must be met. For more information about the Victim Compensation Program or to receive an application, please call **1-888-286-7347** or visit the OVS Web site at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/.

### VICTIM SERVICES Advocates

Victim Services Advocates help crime victims participate in the criminal justice process by explaining their rights and how to exercise those rights. Advocates also refer victims to resources that may reduce the effects of trauma associated with crime. OVS has victim services advocates at courthouses throughout the state to help victims of personal injury crimes, their family members, and family members of homicide victims. There are also victim services advocates at the Board of Pardons and Paroles (Board) to provide support to crime victims during the pardons and paroles process.

#### ADVOCATES MAY HELP VICTIMS BY

- Telling victims about their state constitutional rights.
- Serving as a contact between victims and court and Board staff.
- Explaining the criminal and juvenile justice system.
- Giving victims updates on the court case and Board proceedings.
- Going to court and Board proceedings with victims and advocating for their rights.
- Referring victims to social service agencies.
- Telling victims about the victim notification programs and helping with registering for notification.
- Explaining:
  - how to write a victim impact statement and may help victims with reading the statement;
  - restitution and helping with requests for restitution;
  - the Victim Compensation Program and may help victims complete an application;
  - how to get property returned that was held as evidence; and
  - orders of protection and helping victims get orders of protection.

Please call OVS at **1-800-822-8428** for more information about OVS victim services advocates and crime victims' rights or visit the OVS Web site at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/.

### Focusing on a brighter future

### VICTIM Notification Programs

A MARTIN AND A STATE

Notification programs provide important information to victims and other eligible persons about changes in the custody status of inmates, requests made by an inmate for changes in registration status with the Sex Offender Registry, and when orders of protection end. OVS provides the following free and confidential notification programs:

# POST-CONVICTION CHANGE IN INMATE STATUS

Provides notification about changes in the status of inmates sentenced to the Department of Correction. Notifications include:

- Release
- Halfway house release
- Clemency hearing
- Parole hearing/release
- Pardon hearing
- Re-entry furlough
- Sentence modification
- Sentence review
- Transitional supervision

#### SEX OFFENDER STATUS CHANGE

Provides notification when an inmate applies or asks the court for a change to their registration with the Sex Offender Registry.

The changes in the Sex Offender Registry that an inmate may request include:

- Not having to register;
- Limiting the information that is available to the public; or
- Removing any limits on the information that is available to the public.

#### WHO MAY MAKE A REQUEST TO BE NOTIFIED?

- Crime victims or the parent(s) or guardian(s) of minor crime victims;
- Family members of homicide victims;
- Legal representative of crime victims;
- State's attorneys; and
- Inmate's immediate family members.

#### HOW DO I REGISTER?

Call OVS at **1-800-822-8428** to register or fill out a Confidential Request for Notification of Status of Inmate (JD-VS-5) form at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/notification.

# NOTIFICATION WHEN ORDERS OF PROTECTION END

Automatic notification is provided to a protected person when the protective order ends or 5 weeks before a restraining order or civil protection order ends.

# CT SAVIN

Connecticut Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification (CT SAVIN) is a confidential service that provides crime victims, victim advocates, and other concerned citizens with notification about certain adult court events, changes to an inmate's custody status, and when a criminal court order of protection is issued, changed, or ends. CT SAVIN is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Registration is available in English and Spanish. Notifications are available in English, Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish. You can register to receive notifications by email, telephone, or TTY.

#### INFORMATION NEEDED TO REGISTER FOR NOTIFICATION

To register you will need to know the offender's first and last name. You may also use the docket number if registering for adult court case status notification or the offender's inmate number if you are registering for a custody status notification.

**TO REGISTER ON-LINE** – go to www.jud.ct.gov and click on the CT SAVIN button (left side of page). The CT SAVIN Website has instructions to help you register.

**TO REGISTER BY VINEMOBILE FOR INMATE CUSTODY STATUS** – download the app from the iTunes App Store or from Google Play and follow the instructions.

**TO REGISTER BY PHONE** – using a touch-tone telephone, call 1-877-846-3428 and follow the instructions. You may also register more than 1 telephone number.

**TO REGISTER BY TTY** (for the hearing and speech impaired) – call 1-866-847-1298 and a representative will help you.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY EMAIL

Emails are sent once from vine@globalnotifications.com to the email address(es) you registered. You should add the VINE email to your address book to help prevent notification emails from being sent to your spam folder.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY PHONE AND TTY

Notification calls are made between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. and continue every 30 minutes until the call is answered or notification calls are made at 7:00 a.m., 2:00 p.m., and 6:00 p.m. If the PIN you chose when you registered is not entered, the calls will continue every 2 hours (up to 48 hours) until the PIN is entered. SEXUAL ASSAULT Forensic examiners (SAFE) program

The Gail Burns-Smith Sexual Assault Forensic Examiners (SAFE) Program provides specially trained sexual assault forensic examiners to assist victims of sexual assault at participating healthcare facilities. The SAFE Program is named after the late Gail Burns-Smith, a national and local advocate for victims of sexual assault and abuse. SAFE services are offered at participating healthcare facilities in Connecticut.

# WHAT IS A SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMINER (SAFE)?

A SAFE is a registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, nurse mid-wife, a physician, or a physician's assistant with specialized training in the collection of forensic evidence for sexual assault victims.

#### WHAT IS A SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAM?

An examination that includes collecting information and evidence, doing a physical exam to look for assault-related injury, recommending medications for the prevention of sexually transmitted infections and prevention of pregnancy, and referrals for follow-up care.

## WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF THE SAFE PROGRAM?

- Sexual assault victims receive compassionate and specialized care;
- Improved quality of forensic evidence; and
- Helps responding agencies to work more closely together to provide services.

#### WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR SAFE SERVICES?

- A person 13 years old or older who is a victim of a sexual assault or abuse;
- The sexual assault or abuse happened within 120 hours; and
- The sexual assault victim is able to give permission to have a sexual assault forensic exam.

For more information about the Gail Burns-Smith SAFE Program, please call OVS at **1-800-822-8428**.

#### **RIGHTS OF CRIME VICTIMS**

As a crime victim, you have certain rights under the constitution of Connecticut, article first, Section 8b.

#### You have the right to:

- Be treated with fairness and respect throughout the criminal justice process;
- Have the case completed in a timely manner following arrest of the accused, provided no rights of the accused are violated;
- Be reasonably protected from the accused throughout the criminal justice process;
- Be told of court dates;
- Attend the trial and all other court proceedings (*arraignment, pre-trial, and sentencing*) unless you are testifying, in which case the court may decide that you can't attend the trial until after you are done testifying;
- Tell the prosecutor how the crime has affected you and to get information about the criminal case;
- Have the chance to agree or disagree with any plea agreement between the accused and the prosecutor and to make a statement to the court before the court decides if it will accept the agreement;
- Make a statement to the court at sentencing;
- Request restitution for expenses or property lost or damaged because of the crime; and
- Get information about the arrest, conviction, sentence, imprisonment, and release of the accused.

### Important TELEPHONE NUMBERS

#### VICTIM COMPENSATION

TELEPHONE: 1-888-286-7347 or 860-263-2761 FAX: 860-263-2780 Email: Ovscompensation@jud.ct.gov

#### HELPLINE

TELEPHONE: 1-800-822-8428 or 860-263-2760 FAX: 860-263-2777 Email: OVS@JUD.CT.GOV

#### ADMINISTRATION

TELEPHONE: 860-263-2760 Fax: 860-263-2777 Email: OVS@JUD.CT.GOV

#### TELECOMMUNICATIONS RELAY SERVICE CALL: 711

For more information on OVS programs and services, please watch our informational videos at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.



### HELPLINE 800-822-8428

# ADMINISTRATION 860-263-2760

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, call OVS at 1-800-822-8428.



Office of Victim Services State of Connecticut Judicial Branch

www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/ JDP-VS-17 Rev. 8/19